Acrossthebarline

November 14, 2009

Oy Vey-"She’s Having My Baby." Macho Rat-Pack Death Knell, Part 3

Filed under: Uncategorized — improviz @ 2:50 PM

As my other posts show, I’m not exactly an abject sentimentalist, but when I went back to listen to this song, the 3rd and final member of the Anka Trilogy, I didn’t hate it as much as I remember hating it back then. And I hate myself for that.

True, I have no trouble insulting it. Musically, it’s crap; with a cloying quality that would set my teeth on edge if someone told me I had to listen to it more than once in less than a twenty-year span.

But quelle difference between my response in 1974 and my response now.

A close examination shows that the only thing that’s changed between 1974 and 2009 (besides my hair color and the condition of my liver), is that I managed-or succumbed-to the biological pressure and procreated myself. That is, I didn’t actually procreate myself-that would put the cloners out of business-but I did replicate my DNA (c.f. one daughter-at least I’m below the Replacement Rate). And because of that, although it’s hard for this musical cynic to admit, it just doesn’t carry the same freight for me that it used to.

God, how we all hated this song. It was one cog in the Man’s Overpopulation Machine that we knew (I mean really knew) was strangling the planet. Not that it mattered that much, as we were all going to be dead before we turned 30-the proper end of all right-thinking artist-revolutionaries.

Now, 35-years later, a battle rages within. Do I climb down from the elitist position I’ve carefully staked out on this blog and admit that there’s a place in this world for songs like “She’s Having My Baby”?

Well, ah, I suppose I should, but sometimes, hard though it may be, a guy’s got to risk a little cognitive dissonance and consider the greater good, i.e.:

“Havin’ my baby
What a lovely way of sayin’
How much you love me.”

etc., etc…Then, later:

“Havin’ my baby

I’m a woman in love
And I love what’s goin’ through me…”

Hey, don’t worry, hon, that’s just the fluids draining…the same way the flow of my bile seems to be overwhelming the milk of human kindness. So, although my soul calls out like a wounded bat and I know I will hate myself when I see my reflection in my morning Ovaltine, I am flinging “She’s Having My Baby,” along with fellow miscreants “She’s A Lady” and My Way” headlong into the Crypt.

1 Comment »

  1. "my soul calls out like a wounded bat" – heheee made me laugh out loud. good choice. i had a baby too and i love "my baby daddy" as they say, but the truth is, i never really dug that song. love to you and z-girl, amy

    Comment by ASK — August 18, 2009 @ 9:12 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

